Since it was in the 50s today, I took the time to go outside.  I went to check on the progress of my black gold…no, not oil, but compost!

Me and my compost

Yep, that’s me.  The feeling of rich, natural “fertilizer love” running through my fingers…yeah..that’s the stuff!

Don’t sweat it if you don’t have a composter like my ‘lil rig.  You can just start a pile out of the way. If you have pets, you may want to put up a barrier or fence to keep them out.

Why is composting so cool?  Let me count the ways.

1) Saves Money.

Your garden needs compost to flourish…and lots of it.  When you start adding up the $3 a bag stuff…it costs!

2) Eco-friendly!

Now, I am not a total tree-huger, though I will admit I do sway to the left.  This just makes plain sense. You have lots of organic waste everyday and instead of filling the landfills, you can reuse instead. On average, 20% of your waste is compostable. Talk about a win-win.

3) Another garden miracle.

It is amazing to see the transformation from coffee grounds and veggie peels to compost. It doesn’t happen over night. It has helped me learn patience. You just keep adding…

4) Rids you of unnecessary guilt.

I hate it when a piece of fruit goes bad…so wasteful!  This way, if that happens then I can use it in another way–transform it into compost for my garden.

Don’t feel like you have to buy a designer compost bin.  Look at mine.

Groovy Homemade Compost Bin

I recycled my kitty Sanford’s litter bin.  I cut some old flower pics from magazines and decoupaged them on the plastic bin. Say that word out loud…DECOUPAGE!  Instant Compost Bin.

What to compost? Here are some simple rules to remember:

  • Nothing with oil
  • No diary
  • No animal parts
  • No eggs

Pretty much everything else goes…paper towels/napkins, coffee filters and grounds, fruit and veggie scraps, leaves, grass clipings…

So go forth and compost.  Then, go ahead, give yourself some cool points!

