So last night, the garden helped save dinner. We were cooking a tri-tip roast and didn’t really have any ideas on seasoning and sides…the dinner decision delimnia.

But luckily, we had fresh cilantro and parsely to save the day–straight from my winter garden.  I whipped up a chimichurri dressing for our beef salads.  Too die for.  Usually chimichurri has the consistency of pesto, a thick sauce.  But I was able to thin it out with olive oil and rice vinegar to make a wicked salad dressing.

Chimichurri to die for!

What does chimichurri taste like?  Well, it is kind of sour, very garlicly and had the freshness that only herbs can provide. It is from Argentina, where they use it like we use A1 steak sauce.  I remember when I traveled to Buenos Aries to stay with a friend, it was always a staple at the dinner table…like our ketchup or ranch dressing. Yum…that takes me back to the best steak I have ever eaten and the best barbeque I have ever participated in called an asado.  It is where they cook every part of the cow in this huge open fire.  Even the seemingly icky parts were delicious.

Here is the recipe from Weber: Way to Grill:

4 large garlic cloves

1 1/4 cup of loosely packed fresh Italain parsley

1 1/4 cup of loosely packed cilantro

3/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup of rice vinefar

1 teaspoon of kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon of ground black pepper

To make the dressing version, I just reduced the amount of herbs, 1 cup of cilantro and 1/2 cup of parsely.

That is how dinner was saved by the garden.

So if  you are trying to spice up your dinners a little…try chimchurri sauce or dressing.  You will be pleasantly surprised.

Which reminds me, when you are thinking about what to plant in the garden.  Here is another reason to plant Italian parsely and cilantro.  A tip on the cilantro…you must plant it in the fall.  It needs a little cooler temperature to grow well.  I made that mistake the first year I tired growing cilantro.

Happy Gardening.

melissa

