For the last couple of weeks, my hibiscus has been busy.  At least 4-6 GIGANTIC blooms a day.  Hibiscus is part of the mallow family, more rarely know as Rose of Sharon or Flor de Jamaica.  They are grown for their big showy flowers and are often associated with tropical settings.  Hence why I have have mine in my tropical bed.

Look at that Hibiscus showing off in the Tropical bed...

Sassy Hibiscus Blossom

Once mine started blooming, it has become the ultimate bee hang out.  Don’t worry, they don’t bother.  I actually saw my first honey bee of the season yesterday.  I was so excited.  If that bee tells its friends of a cool, new bee hang out, they will come visit and pollinate my plants, which means more veggies and flowers for me.

Interesting story about this particular hibiscus, I bought it on sale last fall when it looked like a dead stick.  Guess how much I paid for it? You guessed it $1.  When I brought it home, my husband, Brice, said…hmm…not sure you got a deal their hon….  Of course, I replied..just you wait.  And then under my breathe, well if it doesn’t come back to life…it was only $1. I must admit my skeptism prevailed throughout the spring when all the other plants were popping out of the ground.  But then…one leaf at a time the ugly dead stick came alive.  And today…both of us can’t believe how big and beautiful it has become.

I say grow more Hibiscus. It’s dramatic. I did nothing more than add a little slow release fertilizer, good soil,  water and sun light. BAM…sexy, tropical blossoms galore.

Happy Gardening,

melissa

