It’s going to be 99 today–so you don’t want to hear this–

But you’ve got to get outside!

Those plants that you lovingly planted in March and April need you desperately in this hot, dry weather.   Don’t forget them.

In these conditions, it really only takes a day or two  for them to die.

And you will feel bad about it.  Just as bad as I felt when I saw that one of my spring-planted buttercup winterhazels had seriously withered leaves.  Not drooping leaves, crunchy, crumbly (as in dead) .

Curled leaves are never a good sign. I forgot about this plant--

This  happened in about 2 days.

That’s why even hot as it is, I vow to walk the garden daily (morning is best) .

And that’s why plastic jugs are once again sprouting all over my yard.  I’ve posted on this poor man’s method of drip irrigation before, but it’s been so hot and dry, jugs deserve another mention.

Like toadstools after a rain, milk jugs spring up in a drought--

I like the jugs because they deliver a slow drip to plant roots through the holes drilled in the bottom.

I like the jugs because they mark my new plants and remind me what’s especially venerable on these brutally hot days.

An eyesore?  Yes.  But one that works for me.

No runoff--no waste from this slow drip method of watering==

And I like the jugs because they are thrifty, useful, upcycled to a higher purpose–

But you don’t have to like them.  If jugs aren’t for you,  buy some survey stakes (those plastic flags the dog fence people use) and mark your new plants that way.  Or tie red fabric to the plants–anything so you want forget.

Then water slowly.  Water deeply. And notice how your work is making a difference.   That’s another reason to walk the garden early when it’s fresh and plants are at their best.  Look at what you’re managing to nurture along with jugs, rain water, mulch, sweat, and sprinklers. Now, pat yourself on the back.

Because it’s easy to get overwhelmed in the garden this time of year.   Don’t.  You can’t water the world, but you can water that wilted shrub.  And it will rebound.

Focus on what you can save.  Bask in its survival.   Don’t let the weather beat you.

Stay out of the garden at mid-day. When it's this hot, nothing looks good.

My ailing Winterhazel didn’t die after all.   So a big pat on the back for me.  And a promise not to forget it again.

Winterhazel making a comeback. Already new leaves are sprouting--

How about you all?  Any other strategies for beating this heat in the garden.

