There is something about an exotic yet humble flower–a member of the petunia family it is.  This year the domestic petunia didn’t do so well for me.  I think it was becuase I waited a little later in planting and that early heat wave didn’t allow them to take hold.  Anyway..that is not what I am writing about today…

No, I am writing about the Mexican petunia (Ruellia brittoniana)…I added them to my tropical garden this year.  They have this awesome trumpet-shaped flowers in a bright purple- blue on  a 3 foot stalk.  There stalks sway gracefully in the breeze.

Here is a quick guide on how to grow:

  • Plant in late spring or early summer
  • Fertile soil is key–don’t forget to mulch.
  • Soil should be moist–they love our humidity–it is like a spa steam room for these plants
  • They are hard usually zone 8-10, but I got these locally at Big Bloomers where they were bred zone hard for 7 which is what I am in.  We will see if these typical evergreen flowers will indeed stay that way.
  • You can propogate all types of ways, sees, cuttings, dividing…so I hope to share maybe next year.

They say they are invasive, but mostly just in Florida, but I haven’t seen those tendencies so far.

So perhaps next year, you will try Mexican Petunias–add a little exotic.

You should definitely grow that.

m

