Faded flowers from my spring bulbs

So your daffodils and other early spring bulbs have faded, so I ask myself, now what do I do?  You want to ensure a good showing next year.  And like me, you are not sure what to do? Do I cut them back? Do I leave them?  Bulb maintenance questions are natural for the beginner gardener. If you read and used the bulb buying guide for beginners last fall, you probably have some bulbs to maintain now.  So here are a couple of tips to help ensure a stunning display next year.

Tip 1: Snap the faded flower and little globe underneath for all your bulb flowers. The plant actually has to use energy to make that little globe and therefore it doesn’t go to the bulb itself.  Toss these in your compost or if you are like me, just throw them in yard at will. They aren’t seeds, so you don’t have to worry about rogue sprouts popping up (though I wish they would).

"My snappings" --I grab the globe on the top and snap the opposite way

Tip 2: Leave the steams. The green steams are collecting sun and producing chlorophyll and therefore feeding your bulb itself.  Don’t be tempted to cut them back.  They need to die back naturally, so they max out the food supply for the bulb itself.  It makes the bulb strong and will help your display next year.

Post snapage...leave the steams to nourish the bulb

One other thing…remember when I had bulb envy of blog partner, Chris’s, bulb display this spring–well, I found out that established gardens bloom earlier and often more robustly and doing a little maintenance like the tips above help make your garden great.  So don’t sweat it if your bulbs bloomed later than others who have been planted longer.  Time is the key.

And that’s it.  Follow these two tips on bulb maintenance now and your plants will do the rest.

Happy Gardening!

melissa

