I’m behind on my blog posts, but not on my vegetable garden.  Last week I harvested and ate the last of spring garden–leeks, collards, kale and my beautiful Red Sails Cabbage.

My cabbage never makes large heads like you see in the grocery store but that’s ok.    The leaves are delicious.  Saute them, steam them, stir fry them, or make a big bowl of blog partner Melissa’s Cilantro Lime Slaw.  Doesn’t matter how you use it, that right-out-of-the-garden flavor will knock your socks off.  

Melissa's slaw is delicious and lovely made with my Red Sails

I plant my Red Sails Cabbage along with other “cole crops” like collards, kale, and turnip greens from transplants in October.    They winter over with no extra care until March when I fertilize and mulch with compost. 

We start eating greens in April and get several “messes” out of the same plants by harvesting all but a few leaves  and letting them grow back out.  Maybe that’s why my cabbage never heads–I can’t wait to eat it.  

Red Sails Cabbage–you should grow that!.

