My tomatoes are making me proud.

Ok, they’re not all giant-sized like this one–But they’re all delicious.  Homegrown tomatoes are soooo much better than store bought…I don’t think any plant is more rewarding.

So in honor of first large tomatoes at my house, and blog-partner Melissa’s, we’ve proclaimed it Tomato Week.

Share you favorite tomato recipes and growing tips.

Here are mine:

Making bruschetta with Sweet Chelsea tomatoes, garlic and lots of good olive oil

Best Recipe:  Bruschetta is an Italian appetizer that’s so easy even beginners can make it.  It’s also a great way to use cherry tomatoes which are the easiest and most productive of all varieties.

Chop tomatoes, fresh basil, garlic, and drench with good olive oil, (I buy mine at Capri Flavors).  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Spoon over toasted bread (8-10 minutes at 350) and serve with lot of napkins.

Ready in minutes...and going fast--

Best tip:  Follow the sun with your tomato plants.  I’m having the best year ever because I turned my half of the driveway into a tomato field.  Plants grow in large plastic pots, that are insulated with recycled packing materials from my friend Jon’s florist shop.  The growers mix is Fafard Professional from Stone Brothers.  I mixed in Osmocote and lime and I  water almost everyday.

Bill does the picking.  It keeps him busy.

Ok–your turn.  Please share your favorite ways to grow and  eat homegrown tomatoes and help us celebrate Tomato Week!

