My "mess" of eggplant

So my grandmother gave me tons of eggplant she had extra from her garden.  My eggplant didn’t do so hot this year…I think I picked maybe a half a dozen, so it wasn’t hard to figure out what to do with them.  But when you get a “mess” or a bunch as we say in the south, and you don’t use eggplant that often….you need something to do with them.  So I decided to roast them.  Simple and decadent. You should try it…

Here is how:

Wash and cut eggplant into even slices(rounds or  lengthwise doesn’t matter–even is key).

Lay the eggplant slices out and salt them.  This helps you extract the moisture and prevents that yucky spongy texture.

Let stand for 30 minutes with salt.

Pre-heat oven to 400.

Then squeeze eggplant over sink to remove extra moisture and salty juice. Pat dry with paper towel.

Brush or drizzle with extra virgin olive oil.

Roast for 1 hour.

Voila! Roasted eggplant. You can dress it up with lemon or your fav vinaigrette.  You can puree and make soup stock.  Add to salads or cover with your favorite tomato sauce and mozzarella. Add it to eggs in the morning for a power breakfast too.  Endless uses.

So don’t let it go bad…roast instead.

Happy Gardening.

melissa

