Fall is for planting in the South.  Perennials and shrubs do better when they get settled in before our summer heat, so find a good plant sale and go.

Here are a few of my favorite sales and the plants I bought this weekend:

No time to sit with all these new plants!

5 perennials for 10 dollars at Campbell Road Nursery on Tryon Road in Cary.  I came home with some splendid Carex, Erysimum Bowles Mauve, Mexican Petunia, Veronica Georgia Blue plus some dollar annuals and 50 cent perennial herbs.  Some of my best plants have come from the retail side of this well-respected wholesale nursery.  They are great growers.

Some of my most unusual plants come from Plant Delights Nursery in Wake County.  Tony Avent’s  plants are pricey but many are very  rare and all are splendid.  Even if you don’t take your wallet,  the display gardens are free and worth the trip.  I came home with a sweet almond tree verbena (Aloysia virgata)and a red Mexican Bamboo (Polygonum cuspidatum “Crimson Beauty)–plus a maidenhair fern that is supposed to take the heat.  Rare indeed.

Finally, everyone should go buy some greens by the end of the weekend.  Even if you live in a third floor apartment, you can grow collards, kale, lettuce, chard and cabbage and they will be so much better that what you buy.   Grow transplants in beds and pots.  Toss leaves in  your soups and salads until next spring.   I have arugula, romaine and spinach.  I’m shopping for collards and cabbage.

What about you? Share your fall planting lists and favorite sales.  Maybe I’ll see you there.

