So early this fall, I went on a trip to one of my favorite nurseries, Camelia Forest in Chapel Hill.  They were having a BOGO(buy one get one sale). I couldn’t resist and picked up a Chaenomeles Japonica, Texas Scarlet Flowering Quince.

Surprise blooms on my Texas Scarlet Flowering Quince

And I must say I was surprised at my Texas Scarlet Flowering Quince.  As soon as I put it in the ground in September it was already producing flowers.  And over this Thanksgiving holiday, BAM…it is showing off more than any other plant. This is probably in part by all this wacky weather we are having, but I will take it.

Here’s the skinny on the Texas Scarlet Flowering Quince:

  • It is a deciduous shrub that grows between 3 feet tall and about 5 feet wide.
  • It normally blooms in the spring.
  • It has red cluster flowers that are great for cutting.
  • In the beginning, it will require water in intense heat as it establishes itself.
  • You can use a general fertilizer, nothing special.
  • Prune after it flowers in the spring.

You should definitely grow the Texas Scarlet Flowering Quince.

Lots of blossoms in November (shocker)

It attracts birds and you can make jam out of the edible fruit if you get enough.

Happy Gardening.

melissa

