If you grow transplants from seed like I do,  you need to get busy before the end of the month.  Here are four chores to do for your spring garden NOW.

#1) Inventory the seeds you’re already holding .  Seeds DO last a few years if they’re stored well.  Just remember that the germination rate will go down over time. 

#2) Plan what you’re going grow from seed.  Tomatoes are on the top of my list because they’re easy, rewarding and you have so many choices from seed.  I also love to try new flowers–but try not to get carried away.   Notice I said “try”.

#3) Start saving appropriate containers for seed starting.  The blue mushroom container is wide and shallow.  I’ll punch some holes in the bottom and it will be perfect for sowing seeds.  The cardboard oatmeal and coffee tins are long and skinny–wonderful for setting tomato seedling nice and low. 

#4)  Finally place your seed orders by the end of the month.  You’ll get the best selection, service and may even get an early bird discount.   Here’s a post from a few years ago that lists some of my favorite seed sources. https://youshouldgrowthat.wordpress.com/2010/01/15/time-to-order-seeds/

