Just look at that beautiful Calla Lily (Zantedeschia aethiopica), I am not one for digging on popular flowers, but this one is near and dear to my heart.

You see Calla Lilies remind me of my grandma and the ones I have are from her garden.  I am not sure when my love for the great Calla Lily blossomed, but it is one of my all time favorite flowers.  And when my grandmother gave me some to grow myself, it was like falling in love all over again.

I just love those leaves…dots galore…

You should grow them.  They are easy.–at least they have been for me.  I just put them in the ground in fall and come early summer BAM…those poka-dotted leaves start to emerge from the brown ground.  The way the Calla Lily grows and unfolds is quite elegant.  It is similar to a tulip in that it emerges and rolls out of the leaf structure.  I describe it as the ballerina of my garden.  It is graceful and poised.

Here is the technical skinny on these garden jewels:

Calla Lilies prefer stream banks and ponds although they originated from Africa.  I haven’t really had to water them much, but perhaps that will change with the upcoming 100 degree days.  They are deciduous around here because of the temperatures and drought.  Just like most plants, they like good soil and a little plant food now and then. Leave them in the garden or cut them for a vase.  Great for all occasions if you ask me…and great to add a little splendor to your everyday life.

So set up your garden ballet with a few Calla Lilies of your own.  I promise they won’t disappoint.

Happy Gardening,

melissa

