If I could only grow one rose…china roses

Cramoisi Superieuri nearly always holds it blooms until Christmastime in my Apex, NC garden.  My shrub came from the Antique Rose Emporium and if you haven’t discovered the pleasures of old roses, I suggest you check them out.  http://www.antiqueroseemporium.com/roses/205/cramoisi-superieur 

Old roses are tough, pest resistant and smell like the roses my grandmother grew.    They don’t look or last as well as the very popular hybrid teas in a vase, but they look so much more at home in the garden.   And hey–they bloom at Christmas.  I used this photo on some of our holiday cards this year. daffodil

And while the roses are winding down, the bulbs are coming up.  Here’s a photo of Rijnveld’s  Early Sensation Daffodils living up their name by blooming on Christmas Day.    I have dozens of these bulbs planted in my woods, but only two clumps were moved to bloom so early.   They are a nice reminder that southern gardens NEVER sleep. 

Finally another Christmas card photo of my favorite red and green–nandina

Nandina berries and lawn furniture, December 2012, Apex NC.  Happy Holidays, and Happy Gardening to all.

