manos_wide1
Annuals, especially hard to find annuals often get overlooked by gardeners. Some people write them off as common, others think they’re too much trouble–

But there are so many annuals I NEVER want to garden without.

At the top of that list:
Manaos Beauty aka Brazilian Button Flower aka Centratherum Intermedium. A perennial in it’s native country, here in Wake County NC it’s tender and needs to replanted in the spring.
manos_beauty1

Even the leaves are pretty–

And the button-like buds and flowers rock the front of the border from mid-summer to frost.

manos_tight2

I first saw this plant at he famous Montrose Garden in Hillsborough. Fortunately I was able to find seed at my favorite source for hard to find and old fashioned annuals, The Fragrant Path. http://www.fragrantpathseeds.com/product.asp?ID=135.
manos_wide2

Annuals like Manaos Beauty are the reason I usually have lots of flowers in the garden. What about you? What are your workhorse plants?

