This fall has been outrageous in color.  I thought I would share some of my favorite fall foliage and why the leaf color is so intense this year.

Why are the leaf colors so intense this year as compared to others? 

Short answer: Weather.

Longer answer:  Temperature, light and water…not rocket science since those, plus sunlight, are the most important parameters in all gardening. We had a wet summer, a moderate fall and a late frost.  These factors allowed some intense yellow, orange and red.  As I was researching this phenomenon, I noticed that some of the intense color is a bit of an optical illusion, which this season has certainly created for us.  Leaf color looks brighter on overcast days…and since we have had our fair share that has also made the colors appear to be super bright.

Happy leaf peeping!

m

