poppyseed
Oh you and your annuals, says my friend Sue Ellen–
And she’s right. Nothing makes my heart beat faster than untapped potential, and there’s so much hidden potential in these tiny poppy seeds, it takes my breath away.

So for 20 plus years, my January ritual has been raking poppy and other hardy annual seeds into the front flower bed.

That means I can’t mulch. Weeds sprout along with poppies. The garden looks messy, always needs weeding, but come May, what a miracle!
larens_three

Hardy Annuals are one of the great joys of gardening in the south. Pansies, snapdragons and annual dianthus can be bought as transplants in the fall, but many hardy annuals don’t transplant well and need to be sown where they will grow.

The fact they you can save seeds to sow the following year makes them the ultimate up-cycling plants.

Each seed head holds 100s of tiny poppy seed

Each seed head holds 100s of tiny poppy seed

Larkspur and Bishop flower are two more of my favorites. What hardy annuals make your heart beat faster?

I love bishops flower!

I love bishops flower!

