I couldn’t believe it when I read it.  Durham county library is loaning seeds to home gardeners.  Ironic that my buddy in California had to point it out to me (Thanks @AmyBuck!)! This is a win-win for me.  Innovative and Impactful! Shout out to Durham Digging Seeds Library!

Yale_card_catalog

According to Takepart.com, Durham libraries are filling their old card catalog files with seeds to loan local gardeners to plant and return the following season. WOW, I heart NC!

When the libraries in Durham, N.C., open tomorrow, patrons at three of the city’s seven branches will find that something from the book-hunting days of yore has reappeared: old-school card catalogs.

But these familiar drawers aren’t coming back to guide visitors to the Dewey decimal numbers of the books they’re searching for. Rather, the drawers will house packets of seeds that can be checked out and planted in a home garden. Come fall, when the generous loan period is up, those free plants will be “returned” in the form of saved seeds, which will stock the card-catalog drawers once again the following spring.

Check out the full article for all the details.

What an innovative concept for a library!  And you just thought libraries were for books… I can’t wait to check it out. Limit 4 packs per person, so choose wisely!

digging_durham_logo

Has anyone tried it yet? Do tell!

Happy Gardening!

m

